512 Prohibited Destinations, Specially Designated Nationals, and Blocked Persons

Mailers may not send items to certain countries or regions (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and the Crimea region of Ukraine) or to a “blocked person” unless authorized by OFAC (see 514). Blocked persons include individuals and entities (regardless of the mailing destination) that are listed on the OFAC Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) list. The SDN list is available online at www.treas.gov/offices/enforcement/ofac/sdn/t11sdn.pdf.

Note: The Department of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) also regulates exports to these countries and regions (see 532.1). The mailer might require separate authorization from both BIS and OFAC. For more information, see Publication 699, Special Requirements for Shipping Internationally.